The Outcomes Star for independence at home

Copyright: Triangle Consulting Social Enterprise Limited

The Independent Living Star is a variant of the Older Person’s Star.

It is suitable for social services and other services supporting people to stay living independently in their own homes for as long as possible. It is appropriate for older people, people with physical disabilities and others needing additional support to be independent.

The Independent Living Star was developed by Triangle with Staffordshire Housing Association to pilot this variant, including a greater focus on accommodation. We also acknowledge Camden, Westminster, Hammersmith & Fulham and Brent Councils, our collaborators in the development of the Older Person’s Star.

The Independent Living Star covers eight key outcome areas:

  1. Where you live
  2. Looking after yourself
  3. Health
  4. Being treated with dignity
  5. Meaningful activity
  6. Social life
  7. Managing money
  8. How you feel

The Independent Living Star is underpinned by a five-stage enablement Journey of Change model:

  1. Cause for concern
  2. Accepting help
  3. No pressing concerns
  4. Choice and control
  5. As good as it can be

Full resources are available for organisations with a Star Licence and training for all workers and managers using the Star.